It might be suitable to keep information about your Jira users (and customers in Jira Service Management) in CRM.

Case 1. Manual linking Jira users to specific contacts

There is a special Jira User attribute that allows you to link a Jira user to contact. There is no validation, any Jira user can be linked to any contact.

If the list of users and CRM contacts are filled separately or don't need to be completely synchronized, you can manually define which contacts should be linked to Jia users.

Link a contact to a user by selecting this user in the Jira User attribute.

Case 2. Automatic synchronization of Jira users/customers and CRM contacts

The synchronization allows to automatically define a Company of an issue Reporter via synchronized CRM contact.

This option may be suitable if you want to create CRM contacts for existing Jira users (or if you updated the list of Jira users and want to align the CRM contacts)

By default, the synchronization is disabled. You can enable or disable synchronization in the section CRM Settings → Jira User Syncing.

Turning synchronization on

When the sync is turned on, the app starts checking existing Jira users (and customers, for Jira Service Management) and CRM contacts by their emails:

  • if contact with the same email exists, it will be linked to the Jira user/customer
  • if there is no contact for a user/customer, a new linked CRM contact will be created

Once enabled, synchronization will run continuously in the background. Upon creating a new Jira user or customer, linked CRM contacts will be linked/created automatically.

When the sync is on, the following contact attributes become read-only for the contacts linked to users: Name, Email, and Synced Jira User value. Those values can be changed only via the User account settings. You cannot delete a contact synced to a user/customer when the sync is on. Deleting a user/customer will unlink the related CRM contact.

You can also create CRM contacts manually, edit all their attributes and delete the entries.

Due to API limitations up to 1000 users can be synchronized. Will be improved soon.

Turning synchronization off

When the sync is turned off, the Synced Jira User value is being cleared from contacts and they become regular entries. They can be managed separately from the relevant Jira users/customers.